Goodbye Jesus

Becoming A Military Officer.

Llwellyn

I am an attorney and am speaking with recruitors in the military about becoming an officer. Specifically, I would become a Judge Advocate Officer (JAG), since I am a lawyer and would be interested in practicing law in the military. The Navy seems pretty eager to have me.

Are there any former military officers out there? Is this a good idea? Is the military too heavily infected with Christian theism? Can I be a liberal and a pagan in the armed services?

Any comments, whatsoever would be appreciated!

I really wish I could help. I was in the Air Force, enlisted, and during the Cold War so my knowledge is more historical than it is current.

I have ten years experience with the US Navy. The ONLY officer I met that was worth a dam was a mustang captain. (A mustang is an officer that started out as an enlisted.) The rest I had no use for. Just keep in mind that JAG is not there to protect the rights of the enlisted. If an officer does something wrong, they'll hang an enlisted for it.

I can't help. I can't stand the military.

Is the military too heavily infected with Christian theism? Can I be a liberal and a pagan in the armed services? Any comments, whatsoever would be appreciated!

I'm not sure about the officers, but from what I remember the enlisted people generally didn't

care one way or another what religion or political leanings a person had. Granted it seemed like

the majority claimed christianity, but it never seemed like much of an issue. It's kind of like

a regular work environment. There will be a few people who will feel put off by a person's claim to be

pagan. Fuck them. You don't have to be their buddies. You just have to do your job.

Of course things may be different now. I'm thinking of pre 9/11 days.

As an officer, I believe your stance may have more of an impact on your career.

Only because of the politics involved in advancement. I'm guessing though.