Goodbye Jesus

Is God Testing Me?

Mikefight

For those who don’t know my story. I am an atheist as of 6 months ago. My wife and kids are still Christian and still go to church. I was a Christian for 30 years.

Things have been tough at home. My wife and I do not feel close. We can't talk about the things that are important to us. We argue about the news now, especially if it has anything to do with religion.

Here is my test:

I have been attending a meeting of Atheist in Jacksonville for 3 months now. It has been great. The people are nice and it is nice to talk to others that have the same views as you. We hope to do some great things in the name of atheism to help lose the negative stereotype. Like the hugs from atheist in Gainesville, FL.

Last meeting I met a new female member that had a lot in common with me. Her husband is not atheist. We started talking, a lot. First emails, then text message, then IM's, to long phone conversations. We have been getting to know each other really well. Then she admitted to me that she wanted to be more than friends. I said I wanted to also.

We met for lunch one day. We hugged before lunch, and then hugged after lunch. I have been thinking so hard about this. Everyone at the church my wife goes to is telling her I am going to cheat on her.

That night I told this new woman that I could not do it anymore. I just wanted to be friends. I was held to my convictions that my actions would affect my entire family, wife, kids, in-laws, and even my friends.

Funny as a Christian I would have probably gone through with it, with the thought that afterwards I could just ask for forgiveness.

As an atheist I know that I alone am responsible for my actions. I know that my wife and I are going through a hard time right now. If we don't make it, I don't want it to be because I screwed it up. I want to be a good husband and father.

I am glad I stopped at a hug.

Did I do the right thing?