Goodbye Jesus

Us Americans, Today Is Patriots Day

nivek

"Shot heard 'round the World" fired at Concord Bridge so long ago.

Been shrouded and covered, tried to be memory holed by those who hate what this Day means.

Beastie went to school with fire in his eyes and several printed off 'net sources to fire off his History classes.

k, g-g-g-g----son of the Revolution, FL

I have no real knowledge of what exactly patriots' day means in the US, but I trust your integrity Niv... and raise my horn to celebrate ;)

The Concord Hymn

Ralph Waldo Emerson (1837)

By the rude bridge that arched the flood,

Their flag to April's breeze unfurled;

Here once the embattled farmers stood;

And fired the shot heard round the world.

The foe long since in silence slept;

Alike the conqueror silent sleeps,

And Time the ruined bridge has swept

Down the dark stream that seaward creeps.

On this green bank, by this soft stream,

We place with joy a votive stone,

That memory may their deeds redeem,

When, like our sires, our sons are gone.

O Thou who made those heroes dare

To die, and leave their children free, --

Bid Time and Nature gently spare

The shaft we raised to them and Thee.

Emerson was a man of peace, but he recognized that some things are worth fighting for. At the dawn of the Civil War, he was said to remark, "Sometimes gunpowder smells good."

Patriot's day - April 19 - Waco?

While I certainly learned about the beginnings of the Revolution--Concord, Lexington, etc.--I don't think I've heard of "Patriots Day". It could have been mentioned in High School, but I don't remember. It doesn't seem to be celebrated in my state.

I thougth Bush named 9/11 as "Patriots Day"?

I give a salute to all good and loyal patriots....I give my government the middle finger..... ;)

Ditto that :fdevil:

In the United States, doing good has come to be, like patriotism, a favorite device of persons with something to sell. H. L. Mencken