Goodbye Jesus

Realizing Your True Motivations

Ahh!

One thing that's been happening a lot to me recently is that I've begun to see through the lies I used to tell myself and actually have begun to see my true motivation. For example, I've come to realize that a lot of my behavior is actually motivated by a desire to be love and accepted. I used to try different religions, telling myself that I was looking for "the right spiritual teacher." But what I really wanted was friends. The religious leaders I studied under the longest were ones I had secular things in common with- similar hobbies, tastes, etc. There was a minister, for example, who's teachings made me quite uncomfortable but I spent quite a bit of time chatting online with him because I was lonely and he was funny.

I also used to dream of being a minister. I told myself it was so I could "teach about God in a way that could change history." I also sometimes dreamed about being a powerful politician or even sometimes a tyrant. Now I understand I just want to be respected. I feel powerless in my current situation.

It's kind of hard to wake up because you realize a lot of your ambitions were really only symbolic of emotional desires. I feel like I just hit an unpaved part in a road. It's hard. I realize I have to make friends- religion isn't going to do it for me, for example.

If our motivations come from within, then from where therein are they supposed to arise?