Goodbye Jesus

What Do You Do When The Person To Whom You Are The Closest Won't Let You Talk About Your De-conversion?

girlfound

What do you do when the person to whom you are the closest won't let you talk about your de-conversion? My recovery from the cult of Christianity is the most important thing in my life right now, and I need to talk about it, and I can't talk about it to my partner. This means I can't talk about my work either, because as a writer, my work is mostly about my recovery from religious brainwashing. Also, with my de-conversion affecting everything from my movie choices to my family relationships, there's just isn't much left to talk about with my him. Sometimes when we're together, I find myself sighing and wishing I could talk. He knows how I feel, because I told him I don't feel close to him because of this boundary of his. But I am very frustrated. My partner is a very caring person and would do just about anything else for me. We are seeing a really great couples counselor and we both are committed to making this thing work. I think our relationship will make it, but until this problem is solved, I fear there will be much unrest.