Goodbye Jesus

Recovering Ex-christian

Snakefoot

I hope you will forgive me for cutting and posting part of my intro from another board. (I type all day in my work, so any and all shortcuts enthusiastically exploited.)

To wit:

For half a century, I have lived under the yoke of christian dogma (non-capitalization intentional). Constant confusion and unanswered questions prompted me to search for clarity on my own. To that end, I learned to read Koine Greek, spent hundreds of dollars on lexicons, commentaries, dictionaries, language grammars, and so on. I started learning, and the more I learned, the more questions I had. One day, I finally realized why it was all so confusing, why so many questions remained unanswered--and unanswerable: all of it was a lie.

Although I still struggle with a lot of the bullshit built up in my psyche over half a century of indoctrination, I can honestly say I feel more free than I have in many years. Unfortunately, the realities of a somewhat "public life" and a bit of minor local celebrity prevents me openly proclaiming my newfound freedom from the yoke of religion/bible/god. I am therefore making my THIRD "public profession" of non-faith here.

I hope to find others here of similar mind.

As an addendum, I add that my wife and her family (I am estranged from my patriarchial/matriarchalfamily, most of whome are/were protestant or catholic christians; most are dead, anyway) are all devout Jesus-is-the-answer fundamentalists. Therefore, in the name of a passable peace, I am an even more deeply cloistered "free thinker" than even public life demands.

I noted on the front page of the site today (Saturday 29 March) "A letter from Kim." I strongly identify with her: we are about the same age and facinc similar situations. The only difference is that I am past the point where she is now. I hope to be a source of help and encouragement to others like Kim and me.