Goodbye Jesus

Why The Bible?

florduh

• Super Moderator

I've noticed several ex-Christians still beating the Bible to death. Didn't we, in large part, leave the faith because the Bible is so contradictory, at odds with reality and history, and generally cryptic (to put it mildly)?

Why continue to try to extract something of value from it? Why worry about what Jesus said, or what Paul added to it? Why try to wring some spiritual guidance out of it? Why try to make a verse fit with the Buddhist or some other thought system? The Bible (New Testament in particular) is for Christians. It's their book.

If you are of a spiritual bent, there is more practical advice and understanding in the Eastern philosophies. Hell, Scientology probably works better in the real world.

Did I miss some great hidden wisdom as I studied (in school, even) and read the commentaries? I concluded the book is probably the poorest spiritual guide available to us.

Am I wrong?

- Chris

Personally I find little value in the Bible anymore. In fact I don't think I looked at it at all for 9 years or so-- then I got on this site and found myself looking verses up!

I think the answer is that we are all at various stages of deconversion with different church/spiritual backgrounds and conditioning. I can see the similarities between some of the things Jesus said and some of the things Buddha said but its just not that significant to me because there are many more things Jesus (and Paul) said that I completely dismiss. That is just the way my mind works. Taken as a whole it doesn't work well for me. I would prefer something else-- such as Vasistha's Yoga, the Bahagavad Gita (in part), The Diamond Sutra, etc., which I find interesting and appeal to my imagination and aesthetic sensibility.