Goodbye Jesus

Dropping The Agnostic Label

Neon Genesis

When I first deconverted to Christianity, the agnostic label was very appealing to me at the time for several reasons. I think one reason is that I didn't really know much about the big bang theory at the time and another being that I was still somewhat under the sway of the cosmological argument. I had my doubts that nobody could really know the truth about God, but at the same time, I just couldn't understand how the universe could be created without a God, and I still didn't understand how something could exist without a first cause. I used to think that if God existed, he was exempt from the cosmological argument because God was eternal, but while I'm still not an expert on the big bang theory, the more I think about the cosmological argument, the less this makes sense. One reason why this doesn't make much sense to me anymore is that nobody can prove that God is eternal unless they've actually met God. Since nobody has proven to have met God yet, then no one can prove that God is indeed eternal. And since there is no proof God is eternal, why must God be exempt from the cosmological argument? Also, I used to think that agnosticism and atheism were incompatible stances, but when you stop and think about it, unless they have evidence, nobody can truly be gnostic about the existence of God, and so the agnostic label seems unnecessary to me the more I think about it.