Goodbye Jesus

Reaching Out

Munk

Um, hi. I have to admit I'm intimidated by these forums, especially since I've never used one before. I decided to put my first personal post here on the site than elsewhere because while I have a great deal of respect for the big thinkers on this site and my own boyfriend of 3 and a half years is an atheist, they kinda scare me a bit. I've seen how the chew on the fundies of christianity...and I LOVE reading their responses to them, but I'd rather not run with the big dogs and stay on the porch, at least for now. I'm a bit of a pansy that way.

Anyway, this post is rather pointless I suppose. I just wanted to say hello to any fellow ex-christian pagans or other form of spirituality out there. I don't know when I'll be back to reply (assuming I receive any comments), but I wanted to test the waters and mingle with other like-minded people in cyber space.

I first stopped being christian when I was in tenth grade. I was agnostic for the longest time, experimented with buddhism, etc. But then upon my second year of college I began to read up on paganism and I felt something click. Now that I look back, the way I've viewed the world and the concept of "god/ess(es)" has been "pagan" with a touch of deism my entire life. I'm just now crawling out of the belief system I was born into and into my own and realizing that I'm pissed, angry, and feel betrayed. I want to scream about all the crap that was forced on my for those 15 years I was classified "christian".

I look back on the things I was taught and wonder how the adults in my life thought that they were acceptable topics to tell a child about: genocide, infanticide, murder, rape, incest while my parents when I was about 7 had to have a discussion about whether or not I could watch Jurassic Park.