Goodbye Jesus

My Little Boy

Guest VBiz

Hi all, this is my first time posting here as I just discovered this magical realm of logic, reason, and freedom.

Anyhoo....

My dillemma is a complex one. I was raised Catholic and did all the normal Catholic things such as:

Attend Catochism

Go to Church

Go back into a little room with an assexual old man and confess to him all the naughty things i've done

Get "confirmed" (at age 13 I believe.....plenty old enough to make lifetime decisions).

Get yelled at

Get told I was a sinner

Get told that I was "not worthy"

Learn that God wants you to sacrifice things for him (i.e., doesn't want you to be happy).

Nothing you haven't seen before.

I always remember questioning it...all of it...but around age 18, I was completely done.

I found the love of my life and we got married in a church (simply because of the architecture...is that wrong? lol!).

That was 4 years ago and I have not been into one since.

So now you have the background.

My question lies with my sweet, innocent, beautiful 1 year old son. I know that there are things I can do to shelter him and expose him to things slowly, but I am very worried about my mom. My mother is no longer Catholic either. She is a "borniggen" (born again Xtain) and attends one of those hideous, massive, arena-style churches. These places, at least in my mind, are purely evil. They assymilate people through their layed back style and rock music and preachers with casual clothes. Its all she ever talks about, it's all she ever does socially, and she pushes it on us day after day after day.

The problem is that she babysits my son 3 days per week. She's already given him jesus toys and "Veggi Tales" movies that are all Jesus'd up.