Goodbye Jesus

What Makes Me An Ex-christian?

Guest christianlongago

Guest christianlongago

I am new to this site so my complete understanding of what makes me an Ex-christian my be a bit off. I was never born again and was not raised in a strong religious household but always seemed to have religion/church near by. I think I just drifted away from God. does that qualify me as an Ex.

Here is my religious background.

1. My mother a good Catholic from Boston married my dad a Methodist. My mother's family disowned her for years. You did not marry outside your faith in Irish Boston in 1951.

2. I have uncles on my fathers side that were pentecostal.

3. I was raised as a Methodist. I even ran the sports programs at my church as a teenager and taught Sunday school. Our youth team allowed players of all religions. Only church in town that did that.

4. I went to a Jesuit College

5 I majored in Geology. No 6 day then resting story there. And not to mention dinosaurs

6. Married a Catholic girl and had to take all the "conversion" classes so that I could get married in a Catholic Church

7. I signed paperwork that my children would be raised Catholic.

I never was the victim of abuse, brainwashing or that sort off stuff. I was along for the ride. I just began to think that god, religion and all the fan fare was a bunch of crap. My family became victims of serious, incureable illnesses and I thought why us. I was an honest ,hard working father and faithful husband yet lost everything and thought why me.