Goodbye Jesus

I Really Did Believe ... But They Say I Didn't

Snafutopia

Hi. Newbie here. I used to be a devout Christian (Baptist, specifically). That was several years ago. Now a Christian friend tells me I was never really a Christian, because her church teaches that real Christians don't become ex-Christians.

This friendship is important to me, and I've tried my best to have a sincere, heart to heart discussion about this, but I don't know what to say anymore.

It just really hurts, to have friends tell me I didn't "really" believe, when I know I did.

It's basically being told that that whole period of my life didn't really exist.

Worse, it's like being told I don't exist. Because "there's no such thing as an apostate." Example: "If a person denounces God that means they never really believed in God in the first place."

How do you maintain friendships with Christians who sincerely mean well but have this, well I don't even know what to call it -- they've been taught by their religious leaders that "true" Christians will always be true Christians, and that there's no such thing as a true Christian who becomes an ex- or anti-.

When they finally meet an ex or an anti, they can't accept the fact that exes and antis really exist... even though they're talking to one!

I know they're just trying to find a way to avoid acknowledging -- especially to themselves -- that their church authorities are wrong on the subject.

Anyway, so I thought I'd ask you guys.

Thanks for feedback.

"Millie"

It just really hurts, to have friends tell me I didn't "really" believe, when I know I did.

It's basically being told that that whole period of my life didn't really exist.

Worse, it's like being told I don't exist. Because "there's no such thing as an apostate." Example: "If a person denounces God that means they never really believed in God in the first place."

Hi Millie, welcome to Ex-C!