Goodbye Jesus

Do You Still Feel You Have A "personal Relationship" With "jesus"?

Phaceless

Something I have tried to explain to a few people with no sucsess... am I crazy?

Maybe there are a few here who feel the same?

I deconverted about 10 years ago, I was about 25 years old, my background is Southern Baptist Fundy.

All through my christian exspereince, yes I did feel I had a "personal relationship" with Jesus/God.

Funny thing is I feel I have more of a "personal relationship with God" since rejecting dogma, religion and a belief in gods.

I define a " personal relationship with God" as feelings of spiritual unity/ connectivness with a "higher power", internal closeness, peace, joy, security, love, value, feelings of some sort of higher purpose/ reason for existing and so on.

The funny thing is these feelings are independent and constant, regardless of my belief or lack of belief.

I would call my self a soft athiest/ agnostic/ and probably a universalist unitarian.

I dont beleive in invisible worlds. I highly value materialism/naturalism and Reason/ Logic.

I find reading science journals gives me religous/ spiritual feelings

When I read about Relativity or Superstring Theory or Physics, and so on .. I feel these deeply spiritual connective feelings, like I am reading the bible or something.

I find preoccupation with the Afterlife as wasting precious time here in the Real World of physical reality.

Yet at the same time, no matter how happy sad, or angery my life is, I never stop feeling this internal spiritual connection with everything around me,

a higher power loving FRIEND GOD figure that is independent of any dogma,rituals, doctrine, or belief....

From an intillectual level, I am Atheist and Materialist.

I VALUE more than anything, the principles of Objective Empirical Evidence, the Scientiifc Method, which to me is the Highest Standard in determining a

"Truth"

This is why I value soft atheism/ agnosticism , because of this high standard.