Goodbye Jesus

Herd Mentality

Guest Hawklord61

Guest Hawklord61

Hi all

Sorry for starting a new topic but i've been reading the forums for about a week now and it didn't seem right butting in on other debates seeing im a newbie.

Ok ... the dreaded first post...Please take this as an introduction to my views on Religion as a whole, not just Christianity so you can get an idea as to where im coming from.

I see religious people on the whole as having a need to bond to a larger community so they can function as a whole person. Probably because of bad life experiences or low self esteem, maybe even a psychological inferiority complex. Basically just having a "need to belong". There is of course nothing wrong with that its just human nature, its just taken to a higher degree.

When they finaly latch onto Religion at whatever age, the herd mentality is enforced, this implies a fear based reaction to peer pressure. This concept was the basic premise for sigmund freud's "Croud Behaviour theory" ... i.e, People who function as a group will react differently to people who tend to be independant thinkers. The group as a whole would in time conform to a linear thought process and would become less aware of the true nature of their own actions.

Now if you put on top of this a group hierarchy (The Church) who recognise they could manipulate these human traits by putting the fear of Gods wrath into its followers, which would in turn be used as a tool to fill its own coffers and wield unquestioned power over Governments and whole societys you will end up with the biggest mass marketed con in History.

This is in my view "Brainwashing" in its purest form as its been done on sutch a mass scale for thousands of years.