Goodbye Jesus

Jesus Invades My 3d Software!

Looking4Answers

As a professional 3D artist, I use many tools to accomplish the tasks set before me. I am also continuously looking for software to use that can help me to complete projects more quickly and easily. I was reviewing one such application when someone pointed out the programs about screen. Take a look at it for yourself:

3dcoat_about.png

3D Coat is a pretty amazing piece of software at a decent price (considering it is a professional tool and considering the price of its competitors). However, I am sickened by this about screen. True, I don't have to access this screen ever, but it is there and now I know about it.

What do you guys think? Should atheist software developers start explaining why they are atheists in the about screens of their software?

Ugh!

BTW - The software's web site is here:

http://www.3d-coat.com/

Geez...that is REALLY poor business practice. You don't turn your marketing material into preaching material...

I say fuck it, if you can use it to do what you want then use it.

I would personally take a certain amount of sick pleasure out of making something "lewd" with the program just because. The fact that I like "lewd" things would just be an added bonus :P

I actually thought about purposefully using the software to create something like that and then posting it on their own forum ;) .

I was talking to another 3D professional (on-line) and he brought up this comment:

I wonder if he would go so far as to revoke licenses when used for images he deemed unscrupulous ...

Looks like an inferior knock off of Zbrush to me. I wouldn't care too much.

But yes, religion in a professional environment is lame. Whenever I'm on the job and religion comes up in the break room or between cubicles I ussually try to change the subject and try to convince others that religion is not a good topic to go on ( And why. It never ends well. )