Goodbye Jesus

My Story

Guest JT85

Dear ex-christian forum people

I am in my last year of university and I first accepted Christ when I was in Gr 10 (High school). I guess for the most part, as is the case with christianity, its about God's love and being tat nice christian humane person trying to live a life that is worthy of God. Emotionally thats all nice, but about a year ago I thought more critically about why and what it is that I believe in. Purely subjective, I came to the realization that I coudnt believe in a place called hell. A place where people spend eternity suffering is not something I can comprehend and grasp for people who dont believe in Christ...people who do bad things in this lifetime like commit murder and etc, those individuals who believe in a different religion, or those that just dont believe in religion and that are just trying to live life for what its worth. I coudnt accept it in my heart and my mind that these people were going to a place after death where there is eternity of suffering. I know this is just purely subjective. I dont care if people can prove me wrong or whatever. Thats just my own personal opinion and I coudnt live with myself if I did believe in it.

What does not believing in hell have to do with believing in Christianity? Well if there was no hell, then Christi died for no purpose on the cross. And theres my crossroad in life right now. This past year has been the most lonliest times in my life because many of my friends in uni have been built around christian people by going to campus groups and etc. Now that I dont believe, its kind of awkward talking to them and going to the weekly meetings.