Goodbye Jesus

A Minor Irration

MathGeek

I teach in the rolling hill country of east-central North Dakota and this place is like any other rural area. Certain people have their agendas and when they grasp power, certain practices go on until the reigns of power change hands. This irritation isn't so much about a personal agenda being undertaken, but a persistent need to continue needless traditions.

This particular tradition involves meatless meals being served in North Dakota school cafeterias during the Lenten season because a large portion of the North Dakota population are practicing Catholics. It's a common practice from what I've seen because I graduated from a small town school and I have taught in two other small town districts. When I was practicing my former faith, I was pretty consistent in observing my Lenten obligations. That meant no meat on Fridays and on Ash Wednesday, and many non-Catholic children had to eat the only selection on the lunch menu. I felt that the practice reeked of hypocrisy. On the surface, Lutherans and Catholics in rural North Dakota basically acted, thought and maybe even worshipped the same way. Below it, the differences between the branches of Christianity could be seen and this was just another piece of bullshit that kept the population divided, not united.