Goodbye Jesus

Deconverting For The Past 4 Years

PaleLady

I will try to keep this short because I tend to write novels once I get started.

Yes, you read the topic correctly: I have been deconverting for the past 4 years...and didn't even realize it. It was 2005, ironically April (major things seem to happen to me in the spring!), when I began doubting my Christian faith. I can't even pinpoint one specific thing that pushed me over that edge. But suddenly I thought, "What if Christianity is just one big marketing ploy?" When this thought, this breath of fresh air, crossed my mind I did nothing for several minutes. I did not attempt to brush away the blasphemous idea. Quite the contrary, it was the only concept I considered for that period of time and, to my surprise I could come up with no contradictions. The more I rolled it around in my mind, the more sense it made. Then I expanded the statement to include not only Christianity but all of the world religions. WHOA! :eek: This was thin ice for my poor oxygen-suffocated brain, so I walked carefully. I found this site and even joined, but did not post anything beefy.

I began a sort of journey, a review of my religious belief system. During the past 4 years I thought I had figured it out, thought I had reached the end of the journey, when actually all I did was choose to step off the path of searching. I ran back to the safety of Christianity time after time after time. But I cannot keep the doubts from returning again and again. The doubts about god, doubts about the...reality? No, the validity of religion. It's like once that veil had been lifted from my eyes, there was no way I could ignore the elephant in the room.