Goodbye Jesus

Intro And Randomness

Mling

Hey all!

I think I might have posted on these forums a while ago, under a different name, but I have no idea what that name was, so "Hi, as if it's the first time!"

Here's my situation:

I grew up in a Christian home, went to church, was confirmed, went to christian camp, loved it, went to a christian college--voluntarily. Started having serious, undeniable doubts around the time that I graduated, three years ago, and have been decidedly without faith for about a year and a half or so. Over that course of time I went from "Well, I guess I'm not Christian, but I try to follow Christ," to "I really don't think that there's a personal god at all."

I reached the near-atheist stage that year and a half ago, and have been slipping into 'I-don't-care-ism" ever sense. Like most people here, I have a fair bit of resentment for the wasted time and energy and lost potential experiences, not to mention the feelings of pointless restriction.

My thing is....there's really nobody to resent. My family taught me to think for myself, and to be critical of any claims of miracles. It was a very scientific household, and the Bible was not exempt. The church I grew up in is extremely liberal--our Mission's trips were about true service, in the form of physical labor to aid those who needed help, and never involved evangelism of any sort.

I recently found out that a person I had worked with on those trips, and who has demonstrate the utmost respect for me, has believed I was Wiccan for many years.

Ultimately, they are wonderful people, and in nearly every case, their faith has inspired them to be better. Likely, it gave them the incentive to *do* what they might have supported in the abstract, or monetarily, without the church community or force of religion behind it.