Goodbye Jesus

An Older Story

Shyone

I am a physician, and I “chose” that profession because my mother told me it was my mission from God. It is a good way to make a living and I enjoy what I do, so I don’t begrudge the push in that direction, and my interests in science made it a slam dunk to accomplish.

I used to be an acolyte in my Episcopalian church, and I was a Priest’s Server by the end of high school. I was attending church 3 times a Sunday as a member of the adult choir, director of the children’s choir, and acolyte. In my mid 30’s, I was elected to the vestry of my church.

All the while beginning at age 17, I had been reading and learning. I wasn’t trying to disprove God’s existence, I was trying to understand how things worked. I studied prophecy because I thought that would be the key to understanding the universe, but I found that Hal Lindsey had plucked verses out of context to make an end of the world prophecy. I studied other religions, I read the Bible, ancient history and texts, and finally realized that Yahweh was a Mesopotamian god wanna-be. Even much of the literature of the Bible was derived from ancient Sumerian, Babylonian and Egyptian texts, some of it almost word for word, and the pettiness and cruelty of God were horrifying and, to me at the time, unexpected. The New Testament does nothing to mitigate the problem. If Jesus were “prophesied” and prophecy was a Mesopotamian pastime with no validity, and the people in the New Testament relied on that, then Jesus was certainly not the Son of this nonexistent god. Jot and tiddle my ass. How do we “know” about God? The Bible. And the Bible was a derivative ancient religious text with no more authority than the Epic of Gilgamesh.