Goodbye Jesus

Preterism

bolianbob

Anyone familiar with this eschatological view? When I was still an active participant in the faith, I grew so weary of all the end of the world is nigh bullshit. I studied the rapture and found out it was just a bunch of bull and not really biblical at all. This led me to an end times view called preterism. Basically it means, that all of Jesus' predictions in Matthew 24, and the bulk of revelation came to pass in 70 AD when Rome sacked Jerusalem. That was the great end of days, and the true end of the old covenant age. But even after following this, I still had doubts about God. If there are no reliable first hand accounts of the gospels, couldn't it be possible that the authors of those scripts made it look like Jesus was able to prophesize these events? I mean, I have no evidence to support that notion, just theory. Any comments?

http://www.americanvision.org/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Preterism

I made a brief stop-off at Preterism before proceeding on to Atheism.

Anyone familiar with this eschatological view? When I was still an active participant in the faith, I grew so weary of all the end of the world is nigh bullshit. I studied the rapture and found out it was just a bunch of bull and not really biblical at all. This led me to an end times view called preterism. Basically it means, that all of Jesus' predictions in Matthew 24, and the bulk of revelation came to pass in 70 AD when Rome sacked Jerusalem. That was the great end of days, and the true end of the old covenant age. But even after following this, I still had doubts about God. If there are no reliable first hand accounts of the gospels, couldn't it be possible that the authors of those scripts made it look like Jesus was able to prophesize these events? I mean, I have no evidence to support that notion, just theory. Any comments?

http://www.americanvision.org/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Preterism