Goodbye Jesus

Study Says People Less Depressed With Belief In God

bird28

http://psychcentral.com/news/2010/02/24/belief-in-benevolent-god-aids-depression-care/11678.html

Is it true that people are LESS depressed when they believe in God? Or is this study flawed somehow? I have seen many people here say that belief in God adds to their depression?

Or maybe the stress is on BENEVOLENT God, and most people on here believed in a not so nice God when they were in church?

Ehhh, I'm not that good at picking apart articles and stuff, I need help. I can't even debate, cause I empathize with the other point of view so much I can't argue.

Looks like there were only 136 people in this study. I'm no expert, but statistically I don't think that is a large enough sample.

I think a belief in a benevolent God could easily work to the detriment of people with depression. They would all the time be wondering why God, who is so good, doesn't make their life easier. They could easily condemn themselves.

At the same time I am willing to grant that for some people, this idea does seem to help. It gives them something else to focus on, namely God, outside of themselves.

"The fact that a believer is happier than a skeptic is no more to the point than the fact that a drunken man is

happier than a sober one." - George Bernard Shaw

Looks like there were only 136 people in this study. I'm no expert, but statistically I don't think that is a large enough sample.

If the sample is properly done(random) then it is adequate to draw some conclusiosn with some defined(in the study) level of confidence.

Or maybe the stress is on BENEVOLENT God, and most people on here believed in a not so nice God when they were in church?

That's the emphasis of the study. If you can maintain this belief then you will be less prone to depression and if you are depressed you will respond to treatment better.