Goodbye Jesus

Achjan

Phanta

Every few months I attend a tiny local sangha that follows the teachings of Zen monk Thich Nhat Hanh (from a distance, of course). I visited for the first time in months a couple of weeks ago and, lo, there was a Laotian monk there, from the Theraveda school...I believe the forest tradition (I am still learning). We have never had a monk before, and he has a temple nearby, in the country. He came here to learn English, for two years now, and takes ESL classes at a local University. In his own country, he is a meditation teacher to other monks, lay-people, and in prisons. He often lives in caves and lives off of plants and berries, like the birds. Here, he has an SUV and cell phone!

He is in a class here, but finds it hard to ask questions with so many students. I offered to do some work with him, as I have some training in this area. He was very excited about the possibility, and so we arranged to meet today and do a lesson. We ate a lunch and visited places in my community. I introduced him to many people. It was quite fantastic. :)

He has already tried to shower me with many gifts (mostly food), which feels awkward. He has also offered to teach me meditation or about Buddhism. He says he is very grateful to have the opportunity for one-on-one teaching, but I daresay I feel grateful for the opportunity for this exchange as well!

He told me to call him "Ajahn". But I think he means "Achjan", which means teacher in Laos.

Pretty neat!

Phanta

That's way cool, Phanta. I'm happy for you. I always appreciate the opportunity to make meaningful contributions to others; especially when they validate that it's meaningful to them by being appreciative. I would consider taking at least some of his offered gifts as a way of acknowledging that fact. It will probably make him feel like he's expressing appropriate gratitude. I know what you mean, though, it can be a little overwhelming if they overdo that part.