Goodbye Jesus

Newbie: Neo... Christianity?

Paradox

Hi,

I'm a Newbie; I submitted my official Newbie introductory post recently but for one reason or another it did not arrive on the list, unless I am looking in the wrong place.

This is my question: would this group exist if Christianity was fully liberal, and basically taken by everyone not to be a set of religious edicts but, rather, to be a set of guiding principles (eg. for those who aren't especially good at recognising how some forms of behaviour may impact negatively upon others)? That was the way I always thought Christianity ought to be. I still wonder whether I could, in some abstract sense, call myself a Chirstian while believing that it is unlikely that Jesus ever existed. I see no reason why a Marxist couldn't call themselves a Marxist without believing Marx ever existed [i.e. that his work was forged by, for example, some government]. Furthermore, I reckon, just as there is neomarxism, we could have neochristianity if such were desired, couldn't we?

Oh, it certainly is possible to espouse the principles of Christianity without believing in the divinity of Jesus Christ or the existence of God. In fact, one of America's prominent founding father's Thomas Jefferson felt that way. In fact, he created his own version of the Bible that removed supernatural occurrences. Indeed, I support the idea of treating your fellow man kindly - I like it. I like the idea of "turning the other cheek" and "going the second mile." If everyone did that, we'd live in a better world.

And a source, to at least somewhat validate my claim, even if it is Wikipedia:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_Bible