Goodbye Jesus

Lent

CelticWhisper

Well, now that the ash-holes have had their day (oh, I just slay me sometimes), the holy(-er-than-thou) season of Lent has begun. Time for wailing and gnashing of teeth by fundies the world over, boo-hooing about Jeezus and generally being an annoyance.

In the spirit of observance, and in the spirit of giving a metaphorical "fuck you" to a girl I knew in high school who admonished me for eating the lunch line's chicken nuggets one lenten Friday, I'm thinking of taking on an extra indulgence to counterbalance all that giving-up of vice that goes on this time of year. These vices need homes, god dammit, and they're being callously thrown out onto the street! How cruel of christians to shut out perfectly good immorality!

Of course, there's always the matter of what to take on. I already curse like a sailor (hey, I work in IT, it goes with the terriFUCK YOU OUTLOOK, THE .PST IS RIGHT THERE!), and I don't want to drink excessively or anything that could damage my health. What're my fellow ex-Cers doing to "celebrate" lent this year? Taking on indulgences out of spite, or just ignoring the whole shebang and doing what you goddamn well please?

I got drunk twice this weekend instead of the normal zero or one. :grin: And now that you bring it up, I suspect it probably was a subconscious reaction to Lent.

• Like 2

I don't need any more bad habits! But I will not miss giving up something every year (or the guilt which was worse)!!!

My boss is a Catholic and (I worked for this company before starting here again) I remember a couple years ago, about the time I first started she had all this crap on her face. I was like what the fuck happened to your face? She said it's Ash for Ash <insert correct day here>. I was like *errr...oookay*.