Goodbye Jesus

Phenotype And Mind

Legion

I am begining to suspect that mind is phenotypic and is an organization arising within an open natural system (like a river) and it is being shaped by both genotype and environment.

I would be interested in hearing if some of you have candidates for natural systems which adapt. I thought of these possibilities... Species, societies, nervous systems, immune systems?

Do you agree or disagree with that list and why? Would you add any others?

Hi Legion!

Your message intrigues me, but could you help me out a bit?

I could just hop on over to Wiki and look up phenotype and genotype, but is there any link or quote you could give me (and anyone else at my level) to explain what these things are, what they mean, etc.?

Once I get a decent grasp of the concepts, then I can add some input.

Thanks in advance.

BAA.

Please understand BAA. I am still learning and these things are complex. I think your questions are reasonable. I regret that I don't have a link to offer and what phenotype consists of is a hotly contested domain. But in general, phenotype is what can be measured or observed about an organism. Genotype is evidenced indirectly by its effects on phenotype.

What did you think of my question? Can you offer any suggestions for natural systems which adapt?

Ok Legion, that's cool.

What do I think of your question?

Well, it seems to me that you've listed two different types of natural systems - living ones (species, societies, nervous systems, immune systems) and non-living ones (a river) and then lumped them together.

Was this your intention? I ask because I categorize both things differently. The first type is not just passive, but can change itself in new, unexpected and dynamic ways, whereas the second can only change in a limited, purely passive way, in response to outside forces acting upon it. Perhaps I'm making a false dichotomy here, in my ignorance of these things? :shrug: