Goodbye Jesus

My Anti-Testimony, Version 2

Amethyst

I deconverted because I did research on the history of Christianity and its links to Paganism, and various Pagan myths, and found Christianity to be the modern offshoot of Paganism. Just another cult. Not because my prayers weren't answered (which they weren't, but I was praying for my mother, who had cancer, to get better. She died. I wasn't praying for anything selfish, unless you count the time when I was a kid when I prayed to be pretty so my mother and everyone would love me. And I prayed for the bullies to stop, but they didn't stop until I was a foreign exchange student and left the country in high school. But that wasn't why I deconverted.

My mother was the type of person who was ultra-perfectionistic and judgemental. I was never good enough for her, nor was anyone else. Well, nevertheless, I prayed for her to get better, so did EVERYONE at church, so did my ENTIRE family. My mother still died when I was in high school.

But that was not what made me deconvert. Like every Christian here it seems, I did the mental gymnastics and excused it as god's way of teaching me a lesson (don't love others or they'll leave you was the lesson I learned from that, for all of those who are so fond of learning lessons). So I clung to the religion, trying to keep believing.

But then why was it, that so many Christians were so hateful towards people they didn't like? Gays? African Americans? Poor people? Liberals? If Christianity was the religion of love, why do so many Christians HATE so much? Why did my mother hate me because I wasn't good enough for her? Why did the people in my mother's church hate me because I wasn't good enough for them? I figured it must have been my fault somehow, so I tried even more to fit in, but I never could.