Goodbye Jesus

To What Degree Are You "out"?

DesertBob

I now fully self-identify as an atheist rather than being content with the relatively euphemistic "agnostic". So far I've gotten by with a "don't ask, don't tell" policy. What's left of my evangelical family is particularly good at this game. *I* assume that *they* assume I'm a backslider and no questions are ever asked. If they ever asked me directly I would shock them with the truth but somehow I don't think it'll ever happen. I've "come out" to my youngest brother, who can handle it, and my two grown children are atheists. My fiancee and her kids are agnostics and atheists all. So on the family front I have nothing to complain about.

So the only area of my life where I really find myself skulking about is my professional life. I'm a software developer. You'd think that wouldn't be much of a problem, as empirical as techies tend to be, but the problem is with my clients and an important minority of my colleagues. One of the key marketing people I need to get along with is an arch-conservative, one of my subcontractors is a devout Catholic, and top management at my main client are basically standard button-down types who probably are at least conventionally religious. The good news in all this is that discussion virtually never veers into private beliefs, but I still find it annoying that I can't join the local Atheist meetup or function online without a good smattering of circumspection and aliases, lest I give people needless pause.