Goodbye Jesus

So Where Do I Even Start?

Jessie

Well, this is embarrassing, but.... I went to a Christian School and never learned real science. Our science books taught us about Adam and Eve. And, of course, God did everything.

I'm going to college now and I'm very afraid to take the required science classes because I don't think I have the necessary background from high school and middle school. Not only that, though, I am interested in how the world really works for my own personal benefit.

I just don't know what branch of science to start with since they all seem tied together (this, to me, is the more important of my questions). And I don't know where, as an extreme beginner, I should get my information from. Does anyone have any website or book recommendations for me? Aside from that, all I can think of doing is trying to find some high school textbooks to purchase online.

Thanks for any help!

• Super Moderator

Check the local high schools for evening adult classes.

• Like 1

Try having a personal conversation with one of your professors (or make an appointment with a science professor) and explain your situation as you explained it above. Then ask him/her to recommend some very basic science material for you to read. Chances are they will love to help you out and make some good recommendations.

• Like 2

Start with a field that interest you. Physics, chemistry and biology are the foundation of most sciences and you can learn a great deal about one without needing a background in the others. Its no coincidnece that these were the first true sciences. MIT has some free online courses here http://ocw.mit.edu/courses/. These are past lectures and course materials that have been published openly online.

• Like 2

Make a list of the various fields of science. Pick what you love first. Then the rest is easy.

You can also try a torrent search for "TTC"

at http://www.thepiratebay.org or http://btjunkie.org/

TTC stands for The Teaching Company.