Goodbye Jesus

Ex-Jehovah's Witness, Research On Leaving Religious Groups

Terrixjw

Hi guys,

My name is Terri, I was raised a Jehovah's Witness which I left when I was 21, 11 years ago. I am now a psychology student at The University of Kent, UK. I am conducting some research on the effects of leaving a religious group.

If the moderators here do not mind, and people would be interested in taking part, I would like to post a link to the online survey that I have created. So far about 170 ex-Jehovah's Witnesses, 20 ex-Scientologists, and 10 ex members of other religious groups have taken part in the research so far. I have had a lot of messages back from people who have said they found it to be very interesting and they felt it asked some important questions. Currently there is no academic research in the field of psychology on the topic that I am looking at, so it may very well be that if all goes well and I get enough participants that it may get published in an academic journal, and of course I will post up the results for those that are interested. It will be completely confidential, and no identifiable information will be asked like your name etc. It will only ask your age, gender and nationality. Then there will be questions about your attitudes to life currently and about your experiences while still in your former religious group.

It does not matter if you are now part of another religious group, or are not religious anymore. But if you do want to take part, it is only for those for whom their religion was a huge part of their lives, so going to church 6/7 times a year does not really count as involved in the religious group for the study that I am doing.