Goodbye Jesus

My Life Among The Swamp People

thetourist

Hello!

I come here as an "intellectual type" twenty something who was raised in one of those super devout Christian homes where we had every version of the bible kicking around somewhere, several Bible studies meeting in our living room on various days of the week, and something like ten copies of the fucking Purpose Driven Life and all of its spin offs. My parents sent me to a non-denominational Christian school from grades 6 through 12. While I readily admit that this place could have been MUCH worse in terms of fundamentalism, it still fed my teenage self a fairly skewed perspective on the world around me. I was very active in the faith community around me; as a music student, I ended up being a worship leader in a church of around 2000 people. In other words, not only was I a Christian, but I was a high visibility one in my community.

Despite the fact that I was pretty sold on the idea of the Christian faith, I always had a multitude of doubts, both about specific theological beliefs and the whole damn thing in general. I openly admit that I'm not usually very cool with authority, but not in the sense that most teenagers are. Instead of just being like "fuck the man" and funneling some beer and doing stuff with girls, I rebelled on a deeply philosophical level, questioning everything I was fed (homophobia, global warming denial, political conservatism, Calvinism, Bush/Reagan worship, etc.). My beefs with this stuff were pretty legitimate. To my surprise, this sort of disagreement gets you in WAY more trouble with pastors, teachers and other Christian authority figures than sex drugs and rock and roll. I almost got kicked out of school for this stuff.