Goodbye Jesus

Loosing A Sibling To Pentecostalism

rain

Hello Everyone, I have been visiting ex-c for about 5 months now and have found some comfort in reading members extimonies. I have found a certain amount of comfort in knowing that people do come to realize that belief in a god or religious doctrine is not only foolish, but is a total mind fuck.

My story is nowhere as horrific as many here, nevertheless I did go through a period of questioning what I had been indoctrinated to believe as a child while raised in a catholic home. My father never seemed all that interested in going to church, but my mother was quite catholic. When i was somewhere around the age of 10 I really started to question the story of the pearly gates into heaven. I bravely asked one of my favorite nuns at school if the gates really existed up in the sky ? Her answer to me was a resounding yes! Somehow I knew at that very moment it was impossible for gates to be in the sky. At that point religion was pushed to the back burner for me, although i continued to believe there was a god and this belief remained a default belief for many years. I struggled with long deep depressions, thoughts of suicide and anxiety for many years due to some things i had experienced in my life. I prayed to god almost daily asking to bring me out of this darkness, i tried bargaining, praising but there were never any answers or help. As the years went by my beliefs morphed more into what I think many people would term New age. That seemed to comfort me. As time went on I started weening myself off of medications i had been on for years and with more clarity of mind, started to realize that life was what is was, and there was no god to comfort or save me from the unfortunate things that happen in life. I am now somewhere between agnostic and atheist, but to be honest it really doesn't matter to me. I don't need to believe in anything.