Goodbye Jesus

Learing About Christianity Made Me An Atheist

FlorenceHami

Hi everyone. I have been a lurker on this site for a long time before joining and signed up a long time before posting. The reason is that I have never been even nominally Christian. I was born and raised mainstream Jewish. I got very little formal training, but we did celebrate the major holidays. The neighborhood my family lived in was predominantly Jewish which gave me a very strange view of the world.

When I was in college, I fell in love with a Catholic boy. I graduated and followed him to another state for graduate school. My parents disowned me. They told me that if I choose him, that I was dead to them. For two years, I was estranged from my parents. At the end of the two years, I was vulnerable and ended up breaking it off with my love in order to become a part of my family again. I married a man who was Jewish and proceeded to have 3 fabulous children. However, the guy was both physically and emotionally abusive. After 14 years of marriage, I took the kids and got out. I was so demoralized that I did not realize that I accepted escalating abuse because in fact, my parents were deeply emotionally abusive. I gave my children both more religious training and more religious tolerance than my parents gave to me. They have each chosen their own paths in that regard. That is a topic for another day. I love them unconditionally.

I don't think i ever really analyzed my feelings about the Abrahamic god the majority of my life. I did not read any version of the bible on my own, including the tanach...the hebrew 5 books of moses or old testament. I was content to just take my understanding of all world religions in the way they are presented to the popular culture. I was really cumbaya about the whole thing and did not realize that the god of the bible destroyed my life.

Then I moved to South Carolina.