Goodbye Jesus

Teaching Rant

musicpoetry

I am posting this rant because I was reminded of my own frustrations after reading the 'Teachers are Underpaid?' thread in another section. I didn't reply there because it doesn't belong there; I am talking about my teaching experiences and how I don't know what to do sometimes.

I am a first year teacher and I don't feel underpaid; I feel underappreciated.

I didn't go into teaching for the money and benefits, although my paycheck has helped my family get by (my parent's income is not enough for the whole household). I can't teach because I have bad classroom management and the kids are all over the place. I started teaching in the middle of October and things are slightly improving, but since I can't manage them it's all on me. It doesn't matter that the students are emotionally disturbed, or that they curse me out, or just call out irrelevant things. It's my fault for "allowing" them to misbehave. I do not want this to be the reason I am a bad teacher.

It's also my fault for teaching two classes that are all English Language Learners and not being able to raise their reading levels. I do not have and ESL license so I have no idea how to handle this. I have a word wall, I scaffold all my handouts differently to cater to different students, but it doesn't to make a difference. I use the SMART Board in ways that appeal to visual learners such as showing them pictures or videos that might help students better understand a concept. I stay after school to help students make up work they missed or to re-teach something they didn't understand. I bought workbooks for certain students who asked for them since the school wouldn't provide. I spend the time to tweak each lesson for each class so it meets the needs of each class. But noting happens because they don't understand me. Oh and since they've been here for over a year they need to take the ELA (standardized test for English). What else am I supposed to do?