Goodbye Jesus

A Christian Response To Evolution And My Wtf Face

sarahinprogress

can someone post a response to this article:

http://www.creationworldview.org/articles_view.asp?id=53 ?

I'm reading it and i feel like what they are saying is wrong, but i don't know enough about evolution to refute it to myself.

Also, any resources in regards to evolution would be appreciated, im just getting started in my acquisition of knowledge on the subject and every little bit helps!

Thanks in advance =)

I'll take Point #1: Copying errors are not universally negative. If an error causes the wingspan of a bird to be slightly wider, for instance, that bird and its offspring will be able to range further afield in search of food. Most copying errors, however, are inconsequential and do not affect an organism adversely or beneficially. Extremely negative mutations do not stick around, either -- If they are fatal to the offspring, that branch of the organism's family tree falls off within the same generation and the mutations do not get propagated. As a result, there is an overwhelming tendency for only neutral or favourable mutations to persist.

• Like 1

Hi Duckie

While I'm not an expert on the apologetics of evolution, one thing I did notice as I read the article was a comment about mutations and how they are never beneficial.

One mutation that is known to be beneficial is the gene for sickle cell aenemia. It also protects against malaria.

Perhaps you should buy yourself a standard biology textbook. My daughter used 'Essential Cell Biology' by Alberts Bray Hopkin etc etc the year before last. You can get a used copy of the 2004 edition from $5.82 on Amazon.

The 8th edition of Campbells Biology is available used from $9.99 on Amazon.

Both of these are reputable textbooks. Campbells Biology was the best selling science textbook in the world at the time I was doing biology (I have the third edition).

I will take point 2.