Goodbye Jesus

Just Had Enough

scarfwearer

Greetings all.

I am a college student studying computer science and astronomy at a public college. I was home schooled in a christian home for all of my pre-college schooling. 

I recently had serious doubts and misgivings about christianity and am giving it up.

I have been going to church for all of my life and that would almost be twenty three years. I have always lived around christians, but I always had slight doubts about it. Of course they were almost always quashed immediately when I would talk about it with my parents. I have especially vivd memories of refusing to read revelation because it was downright scary and just plain weird. I also never did Pokemon because everybody thought it was satanic. I wonder now, how many people are obsessed with stuff being of the devil? I was in the boy scout like thing in church and remember kids adjusting pins on their uniforms such they wouldn't align in a certain way and make a symbol of the devil. I even did the Vulcan salute once in sunday school and had that shot down as being a symbol of the devil.

The only really blatantly unchristian thing my family has always done was let me enjoy Star Trek, especially The Next Generation. The first time I saw "Who Watches the Watchers" I was thoroughly caught up in the story.

Then I think my doubts really began to set in in the last year or so. I guess it is because I have had actual interactions with non-believers at school, including some professors I admire greatly. 

I really had a wake up when I realized a few years ago that christmas isn't really all about christ, so what's the big deal about this holiday? To me it only exists so you can meet all your nerf herder relatives that think they are something because they moved to Texas and here them praise the virtues of using feet and gallons.