Goodbye Jesus

Christians And Lack Of Credit To Talent

silentknight

One thing that's always really annoyed me about Christianity is how God gets credit for all good deeds, and man or Satan gets credit for all bad deeds. It seems most Christians believe than man has no thought or skill on his own, rather his mind and body are a war zone for good and evil, and we must try to have good win out.

I'm an artist, and I've put a lot of work into learning my skill ever since I was a young child. There was a brief period when I tried to use my art to create religious drawings and impress the people of the church. I found that when one does that you get the response of "Wow, God really gave you a precious gift. Praise the lord." or something like that. However, if I drew something "evil", it's because the devil is working through me and I need to repent... or something...

Speaking of art and religious craziness, my step father was really creeped out by cartoon eyes. My art is mostly cartoony, and he'd tell me my characters had "dead eyes"... yeah... my cartoon eyes weren't soulfull enough.... wow.

• Like 1

Keeping this site online isn't free, so we need your support! Make a one-time donation or choose one of the recurrent patron options by clicking here.

This always is frustrating to creative people like yourself. No matter what you do as an xian, it is either a sin or God gets credit for it. That seems to me to be a calculated demoralizing factor that is a part of almost every church's dogma: You, as a human, are worthless, no matter how good or bad you are. Equally worthless.