Goodbye Jesus

Need Advice Bout Coming Out As A Deconvert In Christian University

traveller2

I am in my final year of a theological degree at a small christian university in the UK.I'm no gny say much about it because it could be identified.Though I was very much an evangelical/charismatic type I chose an instituion that was while consevative it is very different from that.It has a great academic reputation.I could do a masters programe there tho I probably will not.It would be a last resort to do one there if I could not get into anywhere else in my hometown.I plan to go for a comparitive religion taught masters in another uni but would do somthing similar in mine if I really had to but doubt it will come to that.

As part of my deconversion I really need to tell someone.Dunno why,just for closure and feeel a presure within myself to do so.

There is a prof who has been very suportive of me and I am sure from papers I have written knows fine well i am not chrisitan.This is not an evangelical college and I doubt very much he will try to convert me back.It would not work anyway as the reason for my deconversion was 20 yrs nearly of rejection by middle class asswipe christians and their use of christianity to uphold their way of life while scorniong the working man or woman and those who are poor/average earners.

You are expected generaly to be a chrsitian though their literature does not state it.I think this prof will keep it confidential and I will set the parameters so I will not discuss it unless its confidential.They all know I divorced my christian wife and they never really bothered bout that.He is not a prof for any classes I take in this final year.

Has anyone had this situation before and do you think the cathartic benifit is worth the smalll risk of being honest with them?

Ummmm....I don't know, I'm a high school senior, but you're in your last year of getting an Xian degree and are just now deciding to come out? Ouch.