Goodbye Jesus

The Big Rip

Guest r3alchild

Guest r3alchild

For a long time scientists believed that the universe was slowing down and would eventually collapse in on itself, this was called the big crunch. However now scientists have discovered that the universe is not slowing down but speeding up, this has been termed the big rip. The theory goes that there is this energy in the universe called dark energy and it is pushing the universe apart. Scientists don't know what dark energy is but they think it makes up 70% of the universe.

Here is more about it: http://www.universetoday.com/36929/big-rip/

This is the right spot for it, chrisstavrous. I just didn't get to the article until now.

So, it looks like the universe will just freeze to death, instead of spacetime ripping itself apart.

I am under the impression Dark Energy is no longer a theory, as it was recently proven to exist. I think Dark Matter has also been proven to exist. I'm not a scientist so I could be wrong about that.

Guest r3alchild

I am under the impression Dark Energy is no longer a theory, as it was recently proven to exist. I think Dark Matter has also been proven to exist. I'm not a scientist so I could be wrong about that.

Yes I think dark matter is, but what I understood on the documentry about dark energy is they don't have any technology that can detect dark energy.

Neither dark matter nor dark energy have been directly measured. We can only see their effects on the visible matter in the universe. We really only know what dark matter isn't (it's not black holes scattered throughout the universe, it's not neutrons, it's not neutrinos, etc.), but we're not certain about what it actually is.

Okay, I'm not an expert, but I do have a sketchy idea of the history of the thing, so here goes.