Goodbye Jesus

Prayer Habits, Hallucinations, Etc.

directionless

As I've read more at this forum, I'm beginning to realize I may not quite fit - because I've never been a committed Christian.  But maybe I'll get some good advice if I ask this question:

When I was a college student in the late 80's I gave up on Christianity because it seemed like nothing was there.  I was never a serious Christian, but I never bothered to question it until college.  So that was a fairly easy transition.  I became an apathetic atheist.

But sometimes in my life unlikely things have happened that make me question atheism.  A few years ago I met an old friend for a weekend and lots of weird things happened.  One key thing was meeting a lady who spontaneously gave me the Bhagavad Gita.  Finally as I was getting off the airplane after the trip, a passenger said something in conversation about worshipping the devil and that was the straw that broke the camel's back.  I instantly became convinced that a huge percentage of the population was secretly zombies or satanists and they were all spying on me, trying to brainwash me in my sleep, etc.  So I confided this to my mother, and she took me to her priest.  He performed an exorcism (just some prayers - it wasn't like the movies but it was an embarrassing waste of time :) ).  He made me promise to start going to church, so I started going to church.  Gradually my delusions changed from being harassed by humans to being harassed by demons and that made me feel better.  It was hard to sleep for several weeks because I thought they were trying to brainwash me in my sleep.  But my sister is an MD and she got me a prescription for sleeping pills.