Goodbye Jesus

Alumni Art Show

Burt_Lemur

The Catholic College where I got my art degree has an alumni art show every year. About a month ago I got the call for entries mailed to me as I do every year. I haven't entered anything for several years, but as I was thinking about it late one night I got an idea that would be a lot of fun.

My concept was to produce a large painting of the crucifixion. It seems like every year there is at least one piece of art in the show featuring the crucifixion, as it's such a cliche topic for art, especially at a Catholic college. The nuns who run this college appear to always be happy to have crucifixion paintings and drawings adorning the walls, and they're almost always the same approach over and over.

So my idea, and I know this was just to be spiteful, was to paint an enormous scene of the crucifixion, with the difference from all other ones I've ever seen painted being that Jesus would have an erection. He would be looking to the sky in ecstasy, and Roman soldiers would be looking at him in shock, one of them drawing his sword.

It would be so great to see this on the wall on opening night of the alumni show, and the reactions to it, but I know it's a mean-spirited idea and I would never actually do it. Also, I noticed in the fine print of the call for entries that they will not display any artwork the school finds objectionable, so it would never be allowed into the show anyway.

Goodbye Jesus

The morning after writing this post, I realize it probably sounds weird and twisted, and definitely a horrible idea. Sorry.

I think it was my reaction to seeing the fine print that said no artwork would be allowed that the administration would find objectionable. I saw a lot of this when I was in art school, in an environment that should have been all about creativity, but at a college administered by 500-year-old nuns who stifled creativity regularly.