Goodbye Jesus

The Universe

themonkeyman

Hi Folks,

I am a rather strict Athiest however if evidence is given I am willing to look back into Religion.  My Girlfriend was watching a Show that said that we all came from the Big Bang.  But her question is well what came before it and how did matter exist?!  Something had to have created it?

This Got me Thinking?  Is it possible that we were created by a God?

Not one that cares enough to, like, interact with us.  So not a relevant question, to my mind.

Born Again Athiest on here has posted a lot about how the math points to the existence of a multiverse, with "big bangs" happening repeatedly.  In essence, to posit that the multiverse is eternal is simpler than to bring God in as an eternal creator of our universe.  But others on here have much more background than I in these topics.

• Super Moderator

I'm afraid I am also not an expert in this field; I can be of some use once the discussion turns to how life emerged and evolved, but before that, I honestly don't know anything.  I agree with Ficino, you need Born Again Atheist and Bhim.

As best as we can tell so far, reality is stranger than any human can imagine.  The gods are things that human could imagine 30,000 or more years ago.  If you had a problem you wouldn't ask advise from a witchdoctor who lives in a cave and cannot read or write.  You wouldn't turn to Bronze Age technology or culture for anything else.