Goodbye Jesus

Don't Pull On The Loose Thread...

unsureaboutgod

I've been lurking for quite awhile and am finally ready to introduce myself.

I grew up in a solidly Christian home.  We believed every word of the Bible was purposely placed by God through divinely inspired authors.  Though I struggled with periods of rebellion, I never doubted God's existence or the truth of His Word.  I studied at seminary and worked as a youth minister for a small church for a number of years.

As has been the case with many others, I eventually became disillusioned with the Church.  (Unchecked hypocrisy, unqualified leaders of divinely attributed popular election, narrow, clannish fellowship practices...)  I stopped praying because I was tired of having one-way conversations.

I found myself beginning to question it all.  I began re-reading things I'd previously dismissed or argued against.  I allowed myself to hold the Bible to the same standards of criticism as any other set of documents.  I discovered it to be nothing more than the work of an ancient people struggling to understand the world around them without the benefit of scientific explanation.  There is no divine hand moving throughout history.  If there is a creator/prime mover/intelligent designer, it is certainly not the God of the Bible.  If there is no God, there is no sin.  There is no hell.  There is no heaven.  There is science and beauty and this life, here and now and for however long it lasts.  And it is worth living!

I re-calibrated my conscience.

I admitted my unbelief to my wife.  She is now actually reading the Bible for herself, prompting discussions which are leading her to many of the same conclusions about it.  It's not always easy, but we are determined to discover the truth together.

It feels so incredible to be able to write this:

JEHOVAH IS NOT REAL!  HE IS NOT REAL AND THAT IS COMPLETELY FUCKING OKAY!