Goodbye Jesus

Seeking Truth In The Maelstrom

Guest Ghost In The Machine

My background is very simple. My childhood was normal, with the exception of not knowing my birth mother until age 24, I had a loving family, and lots of good role models. I played baseball until I was eleven or twelve, and was a devoted Boy Scout. We went to the lake every summer for weeks at a time and life was idyllic.

I probably lost my faith in religion shortly after this period. Actually I was probably, in reality, seven or eight years old when I realized that much of what I heard in church contradicted the christian tenet of "Love they neighbor" and "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you".

Real christians wouldn't do some of the things I had seen people do to each other on the television.

Also, at the time, my grandfather was an elder in the Reorganized Church Of The Latter Day Saints. I went to Sunday school every weekend with my grandparents (my father and step-mother rarely attended. I read the bible but only half believed what I read. Somehow, I just knew that much of what the church had tried to teach me was, at the very least a half-truth, and the rest was an outright lie. I was taught about tithing, the ritual where you give ten-percent of your money to God on a regular basis, I assume for the priviledge of being saved. I always wondered why the church needed money if God was so all-powerful. Anyway, I heard the usual "if you don't believe in God and Jesus, you'll go to hell" and "you shouldn't ask THOSE kinds of questions".

I couldn't accept the belief the God simply IS, and has always been there. I asked simple questions like "If God created the heavens and earth, and all things upon it, then just exactly who created God"?