Goodbye Jesus

Looking For A Gay Exchristian Who Really Had An Axe To Grind With The Church When He Left

Hoju

My name is John Draper. I'm a writer. My blog posts appear on exchristian.net regularly. I'm writing a short story and would like to interview someone to help me create a character sketch for one of the characters. I want to talk to a gay man who REALLY was hostile to the church when he left -- even meanspirited. I want to talk to somebody who liked to stick it to believers. This behavior would have been based on all the cruel treatment you received at the hands of believers.

Can we talk over the phone? I don't even need to know your name. I just want to use your story as the skeleton for my character sketch

Thanks for your time

Hello John (Hojo) Draper. Welcome to the exC forums!

Have you got any responses yet? I notice that over more than twenty-four hours only forty or so people have read this post and no one has posted. Since I'm also a writer and long time member here, I wonder if it would help to rework the criteria for your potential interviewee. In my observation from reading these forums, not too many gay people "really stick it" to the church for the express reason that they are in the minority and to do so would result in even more emotional and social injury. 

Suggestion: Two-part research. PART 1 Interview six to ten gay people about their experiences at the hands of religion, then create a character who "really sticks it" to the church in retribution. One of your interview questions could be: If you did not strike out at the church, did you feel like doing so? And if so, what kind of things did you feel like doing/saying? You could then use those feelings/wishes/desires for ideas re behaviour acted out by your fictional character. I see a couple advantages to this:

1. You can honestly say that your work is a work of fiction and that any resemblance to a real person, living or dead, is a coincidence.