Goodbye Jesus

Did Anyone Leave "officially"?

Guest NYCseeker

Guest NYCseeker

Hi all,

I'm a religion journalist out of New York. The other day I met a guy who "officially" became a catholic apostate. It appears that if you no longer believe in the Catholic view of things, you can go through some paperwork, meet with a priest, and in fact have a kind of ceremony to "officially" become ex-Catholic.

Does anyone else have this experience of becoming a card-carrying apostate? The religion or sect doesn't matter. But I'm looking for people who can tell me about any "official" (church) processes in becoming an ex-Christian, and any personal stories about doing it.

Working on an article with no strict deadline. Your help is oh-so-sincerely appreciated!

Jason Anthony

I did. It took 6 months, multiple letters, and threats of legal action and press involvement to get it done, but I did. When you've spent your life as a Mormon, getting your name officially removed from their records is just about the only way to get them to leave you alone, and even that sometimes doesn't work.

The worst I have to do (haven't yet) is leave my position as a leader in my youth group. So for me I don't really have anything "official" to leave. It was more of an unofficial thing...

I did. It took 6 months, multiple letters, and threats of legal action and press involvement to get it done, but I did. When you've spent your life as a Mormon, getting your name officially removed from their records is just about the only way to get them to leave you alone, and even that sometimes doesn't work.

Wow. I heard it's hell for a Mormon to leave the LDS Church. Especially for those whose families are Mormon. I'm sure that wasn't easy for you.

Ugh, greygirl - sorry to hear about all that. As big a monster as the Catholic Church is, at least they leave you alone if you just stop turning up for Mass each week.