Goodbye Jesus

Six years later, still no regrets

ShiningScribe

I've heard it said before, the easiest way to become ex-Christian is to read the Bible. That's exactly how I ended up leaving the faith behind: by trying to get deeper into my faith. I wanted to get closer to God and fully understand his word, but doing so just made me realize how much I doubted what I was reading. The Bible made less and less sense, and I kept trying to rationally justify it. When I finally accepted there were no rational justifications for certain things, that was when I opened my eyes and made one of the toughest decisions of my life. That was on December 24th, 2012. Nearly six years later, I have never regretted my choice, nor have I wanted to go back. 

And with that said, it's nice to meet you all. I call myself ShiningScribe because I'm a writer that wants to be a shoulder of support for anybody consumed by fear and stress. My loved ones are the world to me, and that is where I shine. The scribe part of me desires to let the world know what I can create and why my creations are worth experiencing. I was raised by Agnostic parents under the belief that "God is whatever you make it out to be". They were fine with me going to church, and just fine with me leaving it behind. I left the Christian faith under the decision that I want to be the master of my destiny. I was always taught by my parents that you shouldn't change who you are solely to make somebody else happy. It felt like serving the lord was forcing me to do just that. 

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil. For I am strong, and I have loved ones by my side to remind me of that, should I ever forget. My life is not meaningless, for I decide its worth. No amount of threats and insults will convince me otherwise. Because life is good, but living in fear is not my idea of living. 

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

Welcome ShiningScribe.