Goodbye Jesus

Happier Without Christ?

HoustonHorn

I've found myself writing a lot during this process. It helps to get my thoughts down and makes me actually process them rather than be pushed to the back. This short thought I'd like to share and get y'all's opinions on.

I "found Christ" about the same time I entered the working world. It was about a year after I graduated from college and started working at my first real job.

Since that time I've gone through times where I have been very stressed out and unhappy. My assumption was always that the real world is tough, and that the stress and worries are just part of it.

But I've realized something since my beginnings of doubt. I think Christianity played a large part in that stress and worry. I find myself a much happier person since I've stopped considering myself a Christian - agnostic is probably the most accurate term for me today.

Let me explain. As a Christian I believed that every bad event was either Satan trying to tempt me away from God or God punishing me for something I did. Neither of these are good options. Satan tempting me meant that the embodiment of evil was working specifically on me. The most evil creature ever created was focusing their time on me. Picture Hitler focusing on one specific person. That's how I felt. Or, I was being punished for something I did; or for something an ancestor did thousands of years ago. And that punishment may have been for something I didn't even know I did. I could have picked up a dollar from the ground that God had put there for a homeless man to buy dinner with. My greed for that dollar just caused God to punish me with cancer for less than the cost of chicken nuggets.