Goodbye Jesus

Will Church And Religion Cease To Exist?

LosingMyReligion

Mankind has always tried to rationalize his origins. And I guess this is what has lead to the formation of all the world religions.

As an aspiring fantasy/fiction writer myself I realize that the human mind has the unique capacity to dream and imagine. Reading the stories from the different world religions is actually interesting. When you remove the "holy factor" it's all pretty good literature. But at what point do they start believing it's all real? At what point did the bible go from a story to what it is today?

Why do we feel the need to form cults around these stories?

Will we always need religion? The god question aside...Will mankind always need to create and worship? Is this an intrinsic part of our genetic makeup?

Is there anything we can replace religion with?

But at what point do they start believing it's all real? At what point did the bible go from a story to what it is today?

Those are all good questions. I'm an aspiring speculative fiction writer myself.

I think that religion as we know it will cease to exist, but that there will always be some form of cults around, unless they are replaced with drugs or virtual reality in the future.

I think most people wouldn't believe in it if they hadn't been raised in a culture that did. If being agnostic or atheist was more normal in our culture, most people would be.

Take this example.

On another planet similar to ours, there is a populated island. The tribe there believes that the sky is purple (but it's really blue). Since birth, they've been told that the sky is purple. Now let's add religion. Let's say they've all been told since birth that not only is the sky purple, but they all must worship the sky god. If they do not worship the sky god, they'll be struck by lightning bolts. OTOH, if they do, they'll go to a paradise when they die where they sky is always blue (or whatever).