Goodbye Jesus

Responding To A Reductio Ad Absurdum Against Athiesm

Padreko

My friend gave me this argument and since i'm not good with logic I was unsure of how to respond.

A. Athiesm Is Right

B. If Athiesm is Right, Then It is Possible to Know God Doesn't Exist.

C. It is not possible to know the God Doesn't Exists

Con: Athiesm is Wrong.

Keeping this site online isn't free, so we need your support! Make a one-time donation or choose one of the recurrent patron options by clicking here.

Doesn't follow.

Why does it have to be possible to know it. There could be truths that are right, but we can't know it (or at least not yet).

As of now.

It could be true that it is possible to know God exists or not, but not today. As of now we can't prove either. But atheism could be true anyway.

Going back to flat earth theory. 2000 years ago they couldn't prove either. But the earth was round anyway. So the truth was there, but it couldn't be proven at that point in time.

2000 year ago:

P1) Earth is round

P2) If Earth is round, then it is possible to know if the earth is round

P3) It is impossible (1 CE) to know if earth is round

C) Earth is not round

Or put in the theory of atoms (more than 2000 year old concept, but wasn't proven until recently)

Or turn the argument around:

A. Theism Is Right

B. If Theism is Right, Then It is Possible to Know God Does Exist.

C. It is not possible to know that God Does Exists

Con: Theism is Wrong.

My friend gave me this argument and since i'm not good with logic I was unsure of how to respond.

A. Athiesm Is Right

Well...aside from the unsupported first premise.

It's not a reductio ad absurdum because

If Atheism is right, then God does not exist, it has nothing to do with possibilities.

To fill up the bucket a bit more:

It's also called Non Sequitur (like I said, "Does not follow").

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Non_sequitur_%28logic%29